RSS

3 Idiots…..I,me and myself

04 Feb

I know..I know… I have been saying I will blog on this soon, but I was not having enough evidence. But as it is said better late than never, I am going to deliberate on this topic.

I was off to this job interview when my hubby said “Just name of the company would be enough for your prev experience. There is no need to mention that it belonged to your husband. They might not take your credentials seriously otherwise”. I nodded thoughtfully and looked at the watch pointing to him how late this piece of information has made me. Still he gave me a warm hug and waved me good bye. (Where does he get that egoless head?…though hubbys have a different explanation for that.)

During the PI rounds I very well ignored all his advices and went ahead with describing how synergistic my association with my husband at work front was(there wasn’t any need to clarify that for the home front as I had already said we have 3 kids)and how it helped me create a balance between work and home all these years when kids were growing.

Lo and behold! Every discussion on my designation, to the salary to the work experience to the work expectation ended with ‘oh that was your husband’s company……..here it is not that way’. The fact that the husband’s company was ‘Pvt Ltd.’ with a good no. of staff members, with sal packages having incentive components, was all just ‘sounds of distant drums’ to them. The offer they made had everything axed …the salary, the designation, the profile….I went ‘ouch,ouch, ouch’ and hubby dear went ‘see, see, see’.

I took up that job or not is not the question, how much of honesty is too much is. Sometimes we fail to see the point of view of the person across the table. The day I start reading their minds is the day when I would probably be a happier employee/employer. The maid I have just kept has just one issue that the high quality rice that we eat is not satiating her and she needs a low grade variety. Just as there’s no perfect boss, there’s no perfect employee. In fact its not just about the boss or the employee, the day when we are all able to deliver as per the other person’s need, more than them, we would be happy.

Did I buy the low grade rice for the maid? Well may be that will kick off a new post on this blog.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 4, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “3 Idiots…..I,me and myself

  1. Sanchita

    September 15, 2012 at 2:06 pm

    very nice…

     

Leave a Reply

 
