RSS

Anything for you baby

21 Nov

(This is the voice from my Man’s heart)

It was like silk. Smooth, soft and yet so stern and confident that the person on the other end of the line gave in to her and that she bagged the order. I didn’t know who she was, or how she looked like. It was just that voice. The voice that touched my soul, and made my heart say…Anything for you baby.
We exchanged pleasantries and discussed couple of projects and left for a client meet together. “Not so soon, not right now, take a deep breath. Exhale. Take a deep breath. Exhale….” I can’t remember now how many times I said that to myself then. I didn’t want to rush and spoil the whole cosmic set up. But by the time I was finished with my pranayam sessions, the day dawned. She was the ice-maiden. I wanted her to melt for me and not crack open. It was her core that I wanted to touch. So waiting for a while more…Anything for you baby.
I took my first step to move closer and to let her know me better. Every time she passed by, I would remain deeply engrossed in my computer game. Eh, well at least I got noticed at the first place. “Computer games, work place, a serious relationship.” This thought could be only grammatically wrong, because the feelings were real and the efforts were very very genuine. But wait. She wanted something else. I had to change my moves to impress her and not be just plain and simple ‘myself’…Anything for you baby, anything for you.
Celestial positions were changing fast to help me move ahead. My cousins had come down to meet me and I took them to my work place on a holiday to finish a little pending work while they were busy working on an office machine. And there she was again, finishing her pending assignment. She was so sincere and hardworking. The more I knew her the more I felt the bond strengthening. I had to move faster. And as luck had it, my cousins messed up something while fiddling and looked at me for a solution and I said, “She is the Genius here. Can solve anything.” She gave a curt smile and shrugged her shoulder, but….but changed her mind and bailed them out. She left home for lunch in sometime. We wound up and moved out to go home. And what do I see. She was coming back. She smiled at me and said “lunch?” “Did she just ask me out for lunch?” Well that’s asking for too much so soon. We just nodded in affirmative and left. What else could I do? There were my cousins with me. She didn’t ask me out, all because of them. How I hated them. Don’t worry baby. I am packing them off by the next flight home… Anything for you baby.
The week passed by and I was restless as things came to a standstill. I kept playing computer games, she kept making calls, I kept feeling that silk from a distance and we kept going out on client meets and the days kept dawning. Next weekend I had a little work pending again and I went to work. And there she was on the phone. I didn’t even blink for once fearing that she may disappear. She finished her call and took her seat, ignoring my presence totally. Did I care about that? Just the fact that she was around and I got to hear her talking, even if that was to someone else, made my heart flutter. I would have gone to the wash room at least a 100 times – to check on how I was looking, to practice how should I start talking, setting the curls of my hair back, clearing my throat, puffing some rings of smoke to calm myself down and then rinsing my mouth to ensure that there was no bad breath. You never know. I came back to the room and saw her deeply working on some Java code. “Take a deep breath. Exhale.” This time I said it to myself only once. I can’t be wasting time – every time. I took pride at my new found confidence, smiled to myself, took a last look at myself at the tinted glass pane before “the” moment (fearing I should not close my eyes and lift one leg back-that’s such a girly thing),wiggled my fingers, pulled my chair, turned around, only to settle back with my computer game. Ah! it hurts. All that rehearsals…just could not muster up enough courage. Suddenly I heard “Aloo Paranthas?” I turned around and she said, “…with mango pickles”. “Sure” I said. We had a quiet lunch after which she went back to cracking her code and I, to my computer games. Come on guys. We were at work place and we go there to work and let work. And she was there to work so ….Anything for you baby.
Next weekend I again went to work as I had a feeling that she would be around….no pending work this time. She was not there. I switched on the computer and played games and waited for her but she didn’t come. I got up to leave when the same voice called out “Aloo Paranthas”. I turned around and she smiled. “No pickles this time, just little curd”. I thought to myself…Anything for you baby.
10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1. No, no, no. This is not the countdown to “the” most awaited moment but these are “the” most important numbers of my life. I mean, after 10 such weekends, I proposed and after 9 days of that we got engaged, and now have completed 8 years of a happily married life with marriage date totaling to 7(21-02-02) where 6 yrs my wife spent in giving birth to our daughters one after the other (phew) and making us a family of 5, dominated by 4 women, 3 daughters and 2 of us, left with 1, me, the only (read lonely) man in the house. I work Mondays to Fridays and every weekend I look forward to my “biwi ke haath ka khana”. The same voice is heard in the house “Are you crazy…aloo parantha? You have put on so much weight because of this Aloo. You are turning into a couch potato. The only food that you like is Aloo ki sabzi, aloo ka paratha, French fries. What is with you? Don’t you see green anywhere? You must switch to some balanced diet and some exercise regime.” “OK dear…Anything for you baby” comes my voice.

And that’s not all. We have the same silken voice I fell for , draped all over the place.
“Wake up, it’s time for the kids to go to school, wake them up. ”…
“Iron their clothes.”….
“Put on their uniforms.”…
“Fill up the bottles.”…
“Put their lunch box in the bag”
“At least once make your morning tea”…
“Can use your Sodexho for breakfast and lunch”…
“On the way back call me I will give you a list of Grocery”…
“Can you drop/pick the kids to/from their class since you are home early”…
“I have to shop for Diwali for the family. Pls keep the kids home”…
“I am at mom’s place. Lunch bana loge?I will come only in the evening”…
“There’s a bday party, we’ll eat there, order something for yourself”…
“Kids finished leftovers of morning, I am not hungry, order something for dinner”…
“Let’s have maggie today”
“Today daddy will cook lunch, yippie”…
“What is this; you never help me with kids or household work. Why don’t you take all 3 of them down”…
“On the way to work deposit the bills and cheques”…
“Why don’t you do at least your own work?”…
“See what they have for homework”…
“No, no, that’s not the way to do the homework kid, daddy you go I will take care”…
“You never help kids with their school work”…
“Why are you scolding them. Show some compassion. ”…
“You never discipline the kids for anything.”…
“I am fed up of everything, you just don’t own up any responsibility”…

And all I still say is …………..

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
