RSS

Chillar Party movie review

11 Jul

Aarela hai apun, bole to kan khol ke sun……….Chandan Nagar ke Chaudah(14) Chillaron ki Chaddi party ne bole to Chaap dala…..ha ha ha. The web site gave credits only to 11 of them – Fatka, Bhidu, Encylopedia, Akram, Jangya, Aflatoon, Secondhand, Panauti, Silencer, Toothpaste, Shaolin. I would also add my favorites -Googly, Pakau Uncle, RANBIR KAPOOOOOOR (thanks to the TOI article in the morning that I waited till all credits rolled up to see his item number Tai Tai Phish)

Initially when my kids were planning to spend the Sunday with the Chillar Party, I wasn’t too keen and tried talking them out by saying…rating is only 2 stars (made up on my own), Lets go for ‘Buddha hoga tera Baap‘, we also saw Amitabh shooting for that movie (as if the camera covered us in the frame), I will not come if it is Chillar Party…..But the kids stuck to their guns. Even the tiny tot, who had a temperature jumped up at the idea of a kids movie and said “you go for your movie, dad will take us for Chillar Party”. Grunt grunt, snort snort was the sound I made and picked up a paper to actually check the ratings and much to my surprise it was 6 stars (With ‘Buddha Hoga…’ at 4*). 6 stars? How long has that been since a Bollywood star gave that kind of a hit. I have to watch this movie I thought and resumed my kitchen work. Finally after having our lunch when started getting ready I said, the little one is sick and might need me in the hall (my way of getting in to the gang). Left for the 3pm show at Fame adlabs. The ‘House Full’ board did not dampen my spirits and we shifted to the nearby Cinemax for a 5pm show.

Believe you me, from the start to finish, I was laughing and laughing and laughing and Prashant kept teasing “A 2* rating movie (remember the rating I cooked up) can give you so much pleasure?” None of the kids were shown as out of the world entities doing a flying scene or something. They all were the boys next door, from decent families, whose parents fretted over the bad company they kept and the foul language they picked up, kids who had their gang time in the evening to play and plot (the ‘Tatti’ on the car….’yuk yuk yuk but made me roll over with laughter and fall from my seat’) and also used their flaws judiciously (panauti wishing Bhide victory). Especially the last portion in the TV channel debate where the kids simply read out lines from their ‘Value Education’ text book (Even my 5 yr old understood those arguments). I kept remembering the lines from Hrishida’s movie Bawarchi “It is so simple to be happy but so difficult to be simple”. Hats off to writer-directors, Vikas Bahl and Nitesh Tiwari for keeping the ‘simplicity hat’ on while scripting the story.

The paedo version of ‘Slut Walk of Chicago’ will definitely see the following trends catch up:

  1. Chillar party Birthday Themes
  2. Chillar party nick names given to all junior groups – in societies, in schools and colleges, in joint families, in corporate gossip room (I have nick named my kids CP 🙂 )
  3. Public Protests ‘without any shame’ called Chaddhi March (remember the proposed skimpily clad slut walk in Delhi this June was renamed ‘besharmi morcha’ fearing opposition and the dress code too was toned down).

Anna and Baba — need some pointers ?

Enhanced by Zemanta
 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Chillar Party movie review

  1. vickybee

    July 16, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    Very nice. Tempts me to take my kids to the movie.

     
    • askJayaa

      July 22, 2011 at 12:52 pm

      you must. great watch for adults too

       
  2. credit repair

    June 28, 2013 at 6:23 pm

    Undeniably imagine that that you said. Your favorite justification seemed
    to be on the web the simplest factor to have in mind of.
    I say to you, I definitely get irked even as folks consider
    concerns that they just don’t realize about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the entire thing with no need side-effects , folks can take a signal. Will probably be again to get more. Thanks

     
  3. Akash

    May 6, 2015 at 5:58 pm

    Chillar Party is very nice movie..must watch..

     
  4. Archna

    July 23, 2015 at 2:40 pm

    Chillar Party best kids movie..

     

Leave a Reply

 
