RSS

To Shammi Kapoor with love

14 Aug

My early memories of Shammi Kapoor dates back to ‘Badan Pe Sitare lapete hue’ or ‘Taaa…reef kaoon kya uski’ or ‘Tally ho’ or ‘Tum…sa nahi dekha’ or ‘O haseena zulfon wali’ and of course was the most famous ‘Yahoo’, in ‘Chitrahaar’ (a weekly TV show on bollywood songs). The song I saw was in black and white but the thing to remember was the way Shammi would crane his neck and arch his body and pout his lips and blow his locks falling on his forehead.  During my selection process in Zee TV’s Antakshari, I sang the song ‘Isharon Isharon me’. I didn’t win though but while preparing for the song I first time watched Shammi Kapoor’s antics so carefully and probably emoted my reactions to it, that made the show director select me for the opening round of that season way back in ’93. He truly was the lover boy of that era who made ‘club nights’ so raving with his jumping around.

It was just yesterday that I read in the papers of him being admitted to the hospital and also about his medical conditions. It is sad that this free spirited, effervescent actor, also known as the Bollwood’s ‘Elvis Presley’ lays still today. My heartfelt condolences to this star of yesteryear. Till date this line holds true – ‘Tumsa nahi Dekha‘.

Enhanced by Zemanta
 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 14, 2011 in Amchi Mumbai, Mother India, Movie, Review

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “To Shammi Kapoor with love

Leave a Reply

 
