RSS

No matter how old I be I will always be a kid for you – Happy Mother’s Day

13 May

“Wake up beta, its 5.30, look at your sister and brother. They have both finished their bath and puja. Your sister is even helping me out with the morning chores. I don’t want you to help me. Just help yourself by being more responsible for your own things. What will your in-laws say if you sleep for so long in the morning. You will have so many responsibilities when you grow up. You should be getting up at least by 3.30 in the morning, ideal time for students to study peacefully. Please get up and get going”

This is how my morning alarm would sound every morning all through the years I was with my parents. Even during the breaks I took from my hostel during vacations. Nothing would deter me from snoozing this alarm to ring after 1/2 till it was really late.

My mom has always been my punch bag, even till now. Then Amma and now pati (maternal grandmother in tamil)- because that’s what she is to my kids now, this woman has been a silent bearer of all my tantrums, eccentricities and erratic behaviour during my growing up days, but never lost her calm or raised her voice. Everything I chose to do or not to do for that matter, she never imposed her opinions on me. I was free to choose and reject anything in any walk of life. If she found something wrong she would just point it but leave it to my decision. My hobbies, career decisions were all mine always and she would never say a word against any thing.

In fact recently when I joined this Guitar Lessons, while everyone around while was supportive but also was questioning why would I spend time on something like this at this age when my kids should be learning all this and I should just sit back and watch, she said, “If you learn properly your teacher might also take you along for performances. Don’t forget to  send me your show passes”. Mwah Mwah for that.

She has pampered all three of us (me and my siblings) only to the extent that was required. Today I am what I am because of her. All credits to my confidence and talent is because of her. I am uninhibited and liberated because I was brought up by her that way.

“Wake up, its 7.30. The bus should be here in any moment. I am not going to drop you to school if you miss it. See your sisters are up and about. You will have so much to study in few years to come. You should be getting up at least by 5.30 in the morning, an ideal time to study for students. Get up and Get going.”

This is the morning alarm for my eldest one….only to be snoozed for 30  more seconds….Life comes a full circle you see. Happy Mother’s Day mom.

 
 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “No matter how old I be I will always be a kid for you – Happy Mother’s Day

  1. satakopaniyengar

    November 18, 2013 at 2:23 pm

    What all my parents wanted me I could not be, What all I wanted me to be I could not be, What all I am being I am I

     

Leave a Reply

 
